Independence… a price to pay


Ever wondered what it is like to live alone??

I dint wonder.. I just did it… I shifted from Mumbai to NY about 10 months ago..

Initially it felt great…..all the independence… no one to tell me where not to go.. what time to come or go.. who to hang out with … nothing… I have just been doing what I wanted to… living the way I wanted to…

Back home…in Mumbai, I always had a fight with my mom every weekend… about cleaning my room.. and helping around the house… she always said I dint do my bit.. Now… I can make as much mess as I want… no one to say anything about cleaning up!!

WOW…. I was quite happy..Independence… a great feeling…

Slowly… and steadily though I am beginning to feel the enjoyment of novelty wear off… IΒ realize that with independence.. comes the price… I have to do ALL the housework alone… manage each aspect of my life alone… there is no body to help… and nobody to care…

As I think back… I wonder…that is Independence worth the price you need to pay? I realize that when no one asks me what time I will come home… where I am going.. with whom I am… its really because there is no one to care…

Now… more than independent… i feel lonely when I come home…

Comments
12 Responses to “Independence… a price to pay”
  1. shaaakspsyco says:

    Independence is good.
    No matter what the price.

  2. Fineprint says:

    What time did you come home today? πŸ™‚

  3. Vinay says:

    That’s the wonderful thing about feelings and emotions… at times when you think stuff out loud, suddenly the picture becomes clear than ever before and volah! the realiation dawns upon you like an amazing discovery… almost every step that you take seems to be a choice..right from the trivial one’s like deciding what to eat on a day to the more important one’s that shape your future… bottom line is – u take a stand…face the consequences.. and move on to the next big thing… btw must say that ur “live in the present with no frills attached” attitude is appreciable…

  4. Vinay says:

    For what ever reasons (personal and or professional) you CHOSE to move to New York (away from home); you made a choice! You moved to a completely new place, met new people, made new friends, adjusted to a new life style and took steps which other wise may not have seemed possible. To make long story short maybe you lived some of your old dreams and have made new one’s. Companionship is a good thing but wouldn’t that come at a price too? Just some food for thought… πŸ˜‰

    • Soo says:

      Sure…. at times like this… i wonder… what price is too much?? the price of independence or the price of companionship?? πŸ™‚ Don’t you?

      I am not someone who lives in the past or regrets my choices and decisions… they are mine and so are the consequences… I just realize now… the true value of the price I paid for some decisions/ choices and things in life…

Leave a Reply

